• English
  • Français
  • Español
Port Elizabeth, South Africa

About NMMU

“Map your path to success. Your journey begins here.”

NMMU has more than 20 000 students, approximately 2 000 staff members, and seven campuses or delivery sites in Port Elizabeth (Nelson Mandela Metropole) and George. It comprises seven faculties (Arts, Business & Economic Sciences, Education, Law, Engineering; the Built Environment & Information Technology, Science and Health Sciences). Very sensitive to the economic and social context in South Africa, NMMU defines its mission as being an “engaged and people-centred university that serves the needs of its diverse communities by contributing to sustainable development through excellent academic programmes, research and service delivery”. In particular, NMMU promotes reconciliation and responds actively to past inequities. It strives to eradicate all forms of unfair discrimination. NMMU also encourages a multiplicity of opinions and backgrounds.

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU) opened on 1 January 2005, the result of a merger of the Port Elizabeth Technikon, the University of Port Elizabeth and the campus of Vista University in Port Elizabeth. This union of three very different institutions came about as a result of the South African government’s countrywide restructuring of higher education - intended to deliver a more equitable and efficient system to meet the needs of the 21st century. CIES signed a partnership agreement with NMMU in January 2007.